No Copyright Infringement Intended…

I got the idea for the case study for this week’s blog post when I decided it was about time I got my act together and downloaded Kanye West‘s latest album ‘The Life of Pablo‘, only to find that the only way I could even listen to it was if I subscribed to the music streaming app TIDAL. I had already used up my one month free trial ages ago and really didn’t want to give up my credit card details all for the sake of one album. I was so frustrated, why can’t I just buy the damn thing Kanye!?

Anyway, I did some research and found that he and his lawyers had actually launched a campaign against Pirate Bay for breach of copyright laws. So far no actual legal action has been taken and there is serious doubt as to if it ever will but it still adds to the constant buzz that surrounds well-known artists and the ways in which they try to combat copyright infringements. I made a Prezi (ironically riddled with copyright breaches) in order to further illustrate the case.

(Sidenote: HOW THE HELL DO YOU EMBED A PREZI!?)
https://prezi.com/embed/0-2b7fxtpikp/?bgcolor=ffffff&lock_to_path=0&autoplay=0&autohide_ctrls=0&landing_data=bHVZZmNaNDBIWnNjdEVENDRhZDFNZGNIUE43MHdLNWpsdFJLb2ZHanI5a2pMUElJYVB0VVgrRVFzMEVHM2gvOUJ3PT0&landing_sign=BJUKtQXAbOXD-ea1h1pLDz5tlh-AzWTsNijcABtUxIw

Audio used in Prezi: Power by Kanye West ,

2 thoughts on “No Copyright Infringement Intended…

  1. Hi Bridget,

    So Kayne’s new album is not even available via Spotify or Apple Music? Great job by linking this week’s topic to something that most of us taking the course can relate to! I am not a big Kayne fan myself, but the amount of fandom surrounding his music is quite spectacular and according to one of my tutorial teachers he is brilliant producer of sound. Your Prezi is informative and interesting, nice background music!

    As far as I am aware WordPress has removed the ability of embedding a Prezi into blog posts, however it may be possible via downloading a plug in. We might have to ask Ted for his advice!

    Also according to Joenation.tv Kayne purchased the trademark to the word “copyright”…. How ironic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Justine, Thanks for the comment!! That’s correct, it’s not even available on Spotify, Apple Music, Itunes or even for physical purchase eg. CD! I’m a huge Kanye fan and I agree with your tutorial teacher that he is a very talented producer as well as a creative genius. Thank-you for the kind words regarding my Prezi and letting me know that it’s a conflict between wordpress and prezi that is messing with my post format and it’s not just me, hahaha but yes, We must address it with Ted!! Wow, I didn’t know about him trademarking the word ‘copyright’ but it does not surprise me lol, there is so much that can be said on this topic, especially involving Kanye West! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

